Happy Yeasterday

Latest News Around The World

ICC ODI World Cup to expand to 14 teams in 2027 and 2031, 20-team T20 World Cup to be held every two years

ICC ODI World Cup to increase to 14 groups in 2027 and 2031, 20-team T20 World Cup to be held each two years

Dubai: The T20 World Cup will probably be held each two years throughout the subsequent eight-year Futures Excursions & Programme (FTP) cycle whereas the 50-over occasion will probably be a 14-team affair from the 2027 version, the sport’s governing physique ICC mentioned on Tuesday.

Additionally as per PTI’s earlier report, the World Check Championship can have 4 editions within the subsequent cycle other than two Champions Trophy.

“The ICC Board right now confirmed the schedule of ICC occasions from 2024-2031 with each the boys’s Cricket World Cup and males’s T20 World Cup to be expanded and a males’s Champions Trophy to be re-introduced,” the worldwide physique mentioned in a launch issued after the board assembly.

“The boys’s Cricket World Cup will change into a 14-team, 54-match occasion in 2027 and 2031, while the boys’s T20 World Cup will probably be expanded to a 20-team, 55-match occasion in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030.”

Consultant picture. Reuters

The 50-over format at the moment is a 10-team occasion whereas this version of T20 World Cup will probably be a 16-team affair.

“An eight crew Champions Trophy will probably be hosted in 2025 and 2029. World Check Championship Finals will probably be hosted in 2025, 2027, 2029 and 2031. The ICC Ladies’s occasion schedule has already been confirmed with the enlargement of each the Cricket World Cup and T20 World Cup forming a part of the ICC’s long-term dedication to rising the ladies’s sport,” it additional said.

The boys’s World Cup format can have two teams of seven, with the highest three in every group progressing to a Tremendous Six stage, adopted by semi-finals and last.

This is identical format that was used within the 2003 version. The format of the T20 World Cup will consist of 4 teams of 5, with the highest two from every group going by way of to a Tremendous Eights stage, adopted by the knockout levels of semi-finals and a last.

The Champions Trophy will comply with earlier editions with two teams of 4, semi-finals and last.

The ICC Board additionally accepted the method for figuring out the hosts for all males’s, ladies’s and U-19 occasions within the subsequent cycle.

The hosts for the boys’s occasions will probably be determined in September following a range course of that can get underway this month.

The internet hosting course of for ladies’s and U-19 occasions will begin in November and will probably be a possibility to interact with a wider vary of Members together with first-time hosts.

“Having the ICC occasion schedule confirmed by way of to 2031 is a major step ahead for cricket and can kind the idea of our development technique for the following decade,” ICC Performing Chief Govt Geoff Allardice mentioned.

“The revised method to choosing hosts for our occasions will give us far more flexibility to develop the sport and interact new followers. There’s a smaller pool of nations with the infrastructure wanted to host our senior males’s occasions which narrows the choice course of.

“Moreover, a lot of our Members expressed curiosity in internet hosting Ladies’s and U19 occasions which provides us an excellent alternative to stage occasions in established and rising cricket nations.”

#ICC #ODI #World #Cup #increase #groups #20team #T20 #World #Cup #held #years

Updated: June 1, 2021 — 10:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Happy Yeasterday © 2021 Frontier Theme